BYE BYE 2014

Hi there, it’s been a really great year for me and it just got better! But I’m not writing this here post to floss about my good life, I just have a few unrelated things to tell you about because my 2015 is beginning soon & I’m making this an official New Year’s resolutions post.

Welcome to my amazing life. 

I’ve been unfortunate enough to have intimate interactions with ignorant people, and it was life testing my commitment to growing myself and spreading the gospel – but one tires of giving lectures instead of engaging in conversations. There’s accepting different opinions and then there is over-exposing self to unnecessary nonsense.

Disease: IDIOTITIS. Causes the brain to shut down and the mouth to keep talking. Thousands affected. Might be contagious. Best Defense: Slap & Run

The encounters exposed to me that I indeed have grown this year. I have become more patient, less judgmental but too accommodating of bullshit. I learned that I hang on too long to the hope that people will grow/change for the better even when it is very evident that they seem to be comfortable in their ignorance and stupid opinions (totally a judgmental thing to say, but whatever, I said it).

I’ve been blessed with absolutely marvelous people as well, and luckily they outnumber the exposure to agents of idiotitis in my life this year.

There is Emma, such a brilliant writer. (I love her a lot). She inspires me in so many ways to embrace things like my awesomeness and (grumpily) the unkind facts of life.

There’s Jaja, super-super cool gentleman. His blog is a necessity in my life. And he’s been a kind and supportive energy and I’ve learned from him that patience is what makes everything okay. And DETACHMENT! OH MY GOD that is the deepest life hack – KNOW WHEN TO LET GO! Thanks J

There’s my mother, who’s become a little too nice this year. Maybe it is what parents do as I (or they?) grow older. But she’s been very great and supportive of my efforts to greatness. I just wanna give her a special shout out like this is a radio show: “Ke dumedisa mama ko satafrikha, le bo nnake” Yeah. Thank you.

There’s also my sisters (weirdos.) and my friends who remain my friends despite my selfish approach to friendships. They still text me back when I occasionally get over myself and acknowledge their existence, thanks guys. 

Okay, the resolutions now

I did start to read more this year! I really did and I am very proud of myself, I started late in the year but I did!!!! I hope with the new year I will be able to express my personal socio-political opinions like someone who actually knows what she is talking about. That’s really why I made my blog, so I could write about what I believe in and how it could be real for a lot of people.. …how I live it. 

I Will.

Other things were regular exercise (hahahaha, you know you didn’t either) and getting a job (I’m formally employed now, twice). AND I’m taking responsibility for my future and actually doing my school work, so it’s been a good year.

2015 for me begins next month, I’ll be book-worming and initiating a new attempt to incorporate regular exercise into my lifestyle.

3 thoughts on “BYE BYE 2014

  1. Yes I agree, there is a fine line between overexposure to negativity and being open to opposing views. We all have different levels of tolerance so it’s important to know when you have had enough. When you have had enough then remove yourself from that situation. Some things should be avoided completely while we can expose ourselves other things in moderation.

    I’m happy you found my blog helpful. I love your blog as well, it’s very interesting to read about your journey in life and your commentary on various issues.

    Congratulations on the new job.

    • Oh my word, J. I usually feel like “Oops, maybe I shouldn’t have posted that” but you make me so calm. Thank you! Your blog has shown me some light 😀 ❤

Leave a Reply

